You are here:

Faculty/Staff Profiles

The ECS department has recruited a strong diverse faculty and an exceptional group of graduate students of diverse ethnicities. By building a vibrant, energetic and diverse department, we are able to enjoy an exciting intellectual climate that brings together the insights of many different research traditions and many different groups. We have a mix of scholars with overlapping research interests and strong disciplinary roots. One faculty member is an educational anthropologist and studies the education of Indigenous people (Donna Deyhle), three are educational sociologists (Leticia Alvarez, Dolores Delgado Bernal, William Smith), one is a curriculum researcher (Karen A. Johnson), two are educational philosophers (Audrey Thompson, Frank Margonis), and one studies language and education (Veronica Valdez). Added to our research interests, our faculty bring together life experiences of African Americans, Latinas/os, American Indians, Jewish Americans, and European Americans.


ECS faculty also have a strong academic and service connection to the Ethnic Studies program at the University. One half of our faculty are jointly appointed in Ethnic Studies. Ed Buendia is the Ethnic Studies program coordinator; Donna Deyhle is on the American Indian studies faculty; Karen A. Johnson and William Smith are on the African American studies faculty; and Dolores Delgado Bernal is a member of the Chicana/o studies faculty. These faculty teach a variety of courses focused on the history, social, cultural, literary, political, economic, and linguistic contexts of communities of color in the United States for the Ethnic Studies Program.

Recent Faculty Publications >>

FACULTY

**contact is available by email only unless phone number is listed**

Leticia Alvarez

Leticia Alvarez GutiƩrrez- View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3273
leticia.alvarez@utah.edu
Delgado Bernal Dolores Delgado Bernal - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3283
dolores.delgadobernal@utah.edu
Donna Deyhle Donna Deyhle - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3287
donna.deyhle@utah.edu
K Johnson Karen A. Johnson - View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3282
karen.johnson@utah.edu
Harvey Kantor

Harvey Kantor - View Profile
Professor Emeritus
harvey.kantor@utah.edu

Frank Frank Margonis - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3289
frank.margonis@utah.edu
Wanda Pillow - View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3284
wanda.pillow@utah.edu
Sarah Kate Selling Sarah Kate Selling - View Profile

Assistant Professor
SAEC 3286
801-213-3465
sarah.kate.selling@utah.edu

Will Smith William Smith - View Profile
Interim Department Chair
Associate Professor
SAEC 3286
801-587-8348
william.smith@utah.edu
Audrey Thompson Audrey Thompson - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3285
audrey.thompson@utah.edu
Veronica Valdez Veronica Valdez - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3288
veronica.valdez@utah.edu

STAFF

Amy Wright

Amy Wright
Academic Program Coordinator
SAEC 3280
801-587-7814
 amy.wright@utah.edu

jonaton lefler

Jonatan Lefler
Administrative Assistant
SAEC 3294
801-587-7819
jonatan.lefler@utah.edu

 

Last Updated: 2/2/17