You are here:

Contact Us

The Department of Education, Culture and Society is located in the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Arts & Education Complex (SAEC) on the campus of the University of Utah.

Department Chair:
William Smith

SAEC 3286

Interim Director of Graduate Studies:
Karen Johnson
Associate Professor
SAEC 3295

Director of Graduate Studies
Leticia Alvarez Gutiérrez (on sabbatical 2018-2019 academic year)
Associate Professor
SAEC 3283

ECS M.Ed./Secondary Licensure Advisor:
Michelle Turner
Office: SAEC 3280
Phone: 801-587-7814

Academic Program Coordinator:
Michelle Turner
Office: SAEC 3280
Phone: 801-587-7814

Student Advisory Committee:

Co-Chairs: Elizabeth Silva & Tanjerine Vei
Anne Innis
Kona Eldredge
Tino Diaz
Lisa Molina

Send mail to:

Education, Culture & Society
University of Utah
1721 Campus Center Drive SAEC 3280
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-587-7814

ECS Alum Line

ECS has initiated a campaign to generate funds for what we are calling the ECS Alum Line Teaching Assistantship. This assistantship is designed to be funded by our alumni with the belief that small contributions of many can build magnificent things. Just click the “ECS Alum Line” button below our masthead at the top of this page. Our goal is to raise $50,000 over the next three years. Once the goal is reached, we will convene a group of alums to select the first ECS recipient to receive this important support provided by you.


Last Updated: 10/10/18