You are here:

Faculty/Staff Profiles

The ECS department has recruited a strong, diverse faculty and an exceptional group of graduate students of diverse ethnicities. By building a vibrant, energetic and diverse department, we are able to enjoy an exciting intellectual climate that brings together the insights of many different research traditions and many different groups. We have a mix of scholars with overlapping research interests and strong disciplinary roots. One faculty member studies the education of Indigenous people (Cynthia Benally), two are educational sociologists (Leticia Alvarez, William Smith), one is a curriculum researcher (Karen A. Johnson), two are educational philosophers (Audrey Thompson, Frank Margonis), one (Wanda Pillow) in feminist studies, and one studies language and education (Veronica Valdez). Additionally, we have José Francisco Gutiérrez who specializes in cognitive development and math education. Added to our research interests, our faculty bring together life experiences of African Americans, Latinas/os, American Indians, Jewish Americans, and European Americans.

Many of our faculty have strong academic and service connections in Ethnic Studies & Gender Studies. Jointly appointed faculty include: Donna Deyhle on the American Indian studies faculty; Karen A. Johnson and William Smith on the African American Studies faculty, and Wanda Pillow is on the Gender Studies faculty. These faculty teach a variety of courses focused on the history, social, cultural, feminist, literary, political, economic, and linguistic contexts of communities of color in the United States.

Recent Faculty Publications >>

FACULTY

**contact is available by email only unless phone number is listed**

Will Smith

William Smith - View Profile
Department Chair, Professor
SAEC 3286
william.smith@utah.edu
801-587-0354
Office Hours: By appointment.

 

 

 Leticia Alvarez

Leticia Alvarez Gutiérrez- View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3283
leticia.alvarez@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Office Hours:

Cynthia Benally

Cynthia Benally - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3286
cynthia.benally@utah.edu
801-213-3465
Office Hours: Tuesday 12:30pm-2:00pm; Thursday 2:30pm-4:00pm and by appointment

Jose Gutierrez José Francisco Gutiérrez - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3292
jose.gutierrez@utah.edu
801-587-7803
Office Hours: Monday 1:00pm-4:00pm and by appointment on Tuesdays
Alex Hyres  Alexander Hyres - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3271
alexander.hyres@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Office Hours: Wednesday and Thursday 3:00pm – 4:30pm and by appointment
Karen Johnson Karen A. Johnson - View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3295
karen.johnson@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Office Hours: Monday 3:00pm-6:00pm and by appointment
Frank Margonis Frank Margonis - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3289
frank.margonis@utah.edu
801-587-1528
Office Hours: Tuesday 2:00pm-4:00pm and by appointment
Audrey Thompson Audrey Thompson - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3285
audrey.thompson@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Office Hours: By appointment
Veronica Valdez Veronica Valdez - View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3288
veronica.valdez@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Office Hours: Wednesday, 2:00pm-4:00pm and by appointment

Kehaulani Vaughn

Kehaulani Vaughn - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3269
kehaulani.vaughn@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Office Hours: Tuesday 11:30am-2:30pm and by appointment on Thursdays

 

 

STAFF

 Michelle Turner

Michelle G. Turner
Academic Program Coordinator
SAEC 3280
michelle.turner@utah.edu
801-587-1223
Office Hours: Mondays to Fridays 8:00am - 1200pm and 1:00pm - 5:00pm

   

EMERITUS

Donna Deyhle Donna Deyhle - View Profile
Professor Emerita
donna.deyhle@utah.edu
   
Harvey Kantor

Harvey Kantor - View Profile
Professor Emeritus
harvey.kantor@utah.edu

   
Last Updated: 10/29/19