You are here:

Faculty/Staff Profiles

The ECS department has recruited a strong, diverse faculty and an exceptional group of graduate students of diverse ethnicities. By building a vibrant, energetic and diverse department, we are able to enjoy an exciting intellectual climate that brings together the insights of many different research traditions and many different groups. We have a mix of scholars with overlapping research interests and strong disciplinary roots. Two faculty members study the education of Indigenous people (Donna Deyhle & Cynthia Benally), two are educational sociologists (Leticia Alvarez, William Smith), one is a curriculum researcher (Karen A. Johnson), two are educational philosophers (Audrey Thompson, Frank Margonis), one (Wanda PIllow) in feminist studies, and one studies language and education (Veronica Valdez). Additionally, we have José Francisco Gutiérrez who specializes in cognitive development and math education. Added to our research interests, our faculty bring together life experiences of African Americans, Latinas/os, American Indians, Jewish Americans, and European Americans.

Many of our faculty have strong academic and service connections in Ethnic Studies & Gender Studies. Jointly appointed faculty include: Donna Deyhle on the American Indian studies faculty; Karen A. Johnson and William Smith on the African American Studies faculty, and Wanda Pillow is on the Gender Studies faculty. These faculty teach a variety of courses focused on the history, social, cultural, feminist, literary, political, economic, and linguistic contexts of communities of color in the United States.

Recent Faculty Publications >>

FACULTY

**contact is available by email only unless phone number is listed**

Will Smith

William Smith - View Profile
Department Chair, Professor
SAEC 3286
william.smith@utah.edu
801-587-8348
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Wednesdays 3:00pm - 4:00pm and by appointment

 Cynthia Benally

Cynthia Benally - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3286
cynthia.benally@utah.edu
801-213-3465
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:00pm - 3:00pm and by appointment

Donna Deyhle Donna Deyhle - View Profile
Professor Emerita
SAEC 3287
donna.deyhle@utah.edu
Maria Franquiz María Fránquiz - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3263
maria.franquiz@utah.edu
801-587-7814

Leticia Alvarez

Leticia Alvarez Gutiérrez- View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3283
leticia.alvarez@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Jose Gutierrez

José Francisco Gutiérrez - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3292  dddggdsh
jose.gutierrez@utah.edu
801-587-7803
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:00pm - 4:00pm

 Alex Hyres

Alexander Hyres - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3271
alexander.hyres@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Wednesdays and Thursdays 3:30pm - 5:00pm and by appointment

Karen Johnson

Karen A. Johnson - View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3295
karen.johnson@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Tuesdays & Wednesdays 2:00pm - 4:30pm

Harvey Kantor

Harvey Kantor - View Profile
Professor Emeritus
harvey.kantor@utah.edu

Frank

Frank Margonis - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3289
frank.margonis@utah.edu
801-587-1528
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Thursdays 1:00pm - 4:00pm and by appointment

 

Wanda Pillow

Wanda Pillow - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3284
wanda.pillow@utah.edu
801-587-0364
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Mondays 12:00pm - 4:00pm Gardner Commons 4223 (with exception of the first Monday of each month); ECS office: Tuesdays 1:00pm - 4:00pm, and by appointment.

Pablo Ramirez

Pablo Ramirez - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3273
pablo.ramirez@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Thursdays 1:00pm - 3:00pm and by appointment

Audrey Thompson

Audrey Thompson - View Profile
Professor
SAEC 3285
audrey.thompson@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Veronica Valdez

Veronica Valdez - View Profile
Associate Professor
SAEC 3288
veronica.valdez@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:00pm - 3:00pm and by appointment online or face to face

Kehaulani Vaughn  Kehaulani Vaughn - View Profile
Assistant Professor
SAEC 3269
kehaulani.vaughn@utah.edu
801-587-7814
Fall 2018 Office Hours: Mondays 2:00pm - 4:00pm and 7:00pm - 8:00pm

STAFF

 Michelle Turner

Michelle G. Turner
Academic Program Coordinator
SAEC 3280
michelle.turner@utah.edu
801-587-1223
Office Hours: Mondays to Fridays 8:00am - 1200pm and 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Last Updated: 11/14/18